Earthquake in Helena

Early on the morning of July 6th, a 5.8 magnitude earthquake rolled through Helena. The epicenter was around 20 miles northwest.

It was the first quake that I have ever felt.  I was in a dream state when the quake hit and at first I incorporated the shaking and noise into my dreams.  However, it lasted long enough that I woke up and wondered what was going on.

After the big (initial shock), I went to my phone to see what just happened.  Just at that time a 4.8 aftershock hit.  The phone soon lite up with information.  By 8:00 a.m.  that morning, the earthquake tracking site showed close to 15 aftershocks from the same epicenter.

While it proved interesting, I do not want to be anywhere near another earthquake.

 

 

One Reply to “Earthquake in Helena”

Leave a Reply

